S

NETBALL
Europe

TIME: 1 hr 30 mins

‘A’ AND ‘B’

UMPIRE WRITTTEN ASSESSMENT
NOVEMBER 2017

PASS MARK A AWARD B AWARD
Section 1 - 27/33 Section 1- 22/33
Section 2 - 25/32 Section 2- 18/32
Learners must pass in both sections
Name in Full

(Ms/Miss/Mrs/Mr)

Address

Address

Postcode

Member
COUNTY

i,e.CorB

Current Umpire Qualification

LEARNERS ARE REQUESTED TO USE BIRO or PEN — BLUE or BLACK.
TIPPEX or SIMILAR MATERIALS SHOULD NOT BE USED
ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS USING THE SPACE PROVIDED

PLEASE NOTE IN BOTH SECTIONS:

1. Learners are not required to quote rule numbers, but sub rule heading
should be quoted

w N

space then continue on a spare piece of paper

Assume that the teams involved are Red and Blue throughout this paper
Answer all questions in the space provided. If there is not sufficient

For markers use only

Moderated

Number of marks

Level of Pass

Section 1 (33 marks)

Section 2 (32 marks)

PASS A, B or NYM

PASS A, B or NYM

Page 1 of 12




SECTION 1

This Section contains 12 questions:
The following questions 1 — 9 require a learner to write the:-

Infringement (the sub rule should be named e.g. Position of players for a Centre
Pass)

The Sanction awarded (for a penalty pass, name against whom)
Who the Sanction is awarded to

Where the Sanction is taken from

Example 1:

The Blue C attempted to pass the ball to the Blue WD who tipped the ball
which crossed the side line and landed outside the court.

What is the infringement? Ball Out of court 1 mark

What sanction would you Throw in

award?

Who is the sanction awarded | Any Red team player allowed in the area

to? 1 mark

Where is the sanction taken? | Where the ball crossed the side line before landing
out of court 1 mark

Please note it is not sufficient to just answer
‘Where the infringement occurred’.

Example 2:
If the answer to a question is NO Action — insert ‘No Action’

A Blue WA has the ball in the Centre Third and the Red WD attempts to defend

from behind and she is 0.9m (3 feet) away from her opponent.

What is the infringement? No Action 1 mark

What sanction would you
award?

Who is the sanction awarded
to?

Where is the sanction taken?
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SECTION 1 QUESTIONS

1. The Blue GK in the Goal Circle hits the ball which the Red GS has caught and
this causes Red GS to drop the ball. The whistle to penalise the infringement is
blown at the same time as the other umpire blows her whistle for the end of the
quarter.

(i) | What is the infringement? Contact - Rule 12
(i) | What sanction would you Penalty Pass against Blue GK
award?
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Red Team player allowed in area
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? In the Goal Circle where the contact occurred
2. A Red GAis injured and leaves the court. During the injury time, the Blue Team
make four substitutions and team changes and the Red team replace the GA.
(i) | What is the infringement? No Action
(i) | What sanction would you
award?
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to?
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken?
3.The Red WA arrives after the match has started and her position has been left
vacant. She immediately enters the court while play is in progress.
() | What is the infringement? Late arrival - Rule 9.2
(i) | What sanction would you Free Pass to Blue team and the Red WA is sent
award? from the court until the correct time for entry.
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Blue Team player allowed in area
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? Where the ball was when play was stopped
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4. The Red GA falls over in the Goal Circle and whilst still kneeling on the floor,
she gains possession of the ball and passes the ball to the Red WA.

() | What is the infringement? Playing the Ball - Rule 9.4.1 (v)
(i) | What sanction would you Free Pass
award?

(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Blue Team player allowed in the area

(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? In the Goal Circle where the Red GA was
kneeling when she gained possession of the ball

5. AtaRed Centre pass the Red WA takes off from the Goal Third, touches the ball
whilst in the air and lands on her right foot wholly in the Centre Third and then
grounds her left foot in the Goal Third.

(i) | What is the infringement? No Action

(i) | What sanction would you award?

(ii) | Who is the sanction awarded to?

(iv)) | Where is the sanction taken?

6. At a Red centre pass after the whistle is blown to restart play, the Red Centre
steps out of the centre circle onto her right foot then lifts her left foot. She then
overbalances back into the centre circle onto her left foot before throwing the
ball.

() | What is the infringement? Footwork — Rule 9.6

(i) | What sanction would you award? | Free Pass

(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Blue Team player allowed in the area

(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? In the Centre Circle where the Red Centre re-
grounded her left foot
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7. The Blue GD attempts to intercept a pass and lands within 0.9 m (3 ft) of the
Red GA who has caught the ball. The Blue GD makes no attempt to defend the
ball but she interferes with the throwing action of the Red GA.
() | What is the infringement? Obstruction — Rule 11.1
(i) | What sanction would you award? | Penalty Pass against Blue GD
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Red team player allowed in the area
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? Where the Blue GD is standing (unless this
disadvantages the non-infringing team)
8. The Red GK takes a Throw In and she steps onto the goal line before releasing
the ball. The Red GD catches the pass in the goal circle.
() | What is the infringement? Requirements for Taking Throw In — Rule 8.4.1
(i) | What sanction would you award? | Throw In
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to? | Any Blue team player allowed in area
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken? Where the Red GK stepped onto the goal line
9. The Red WA who is standing outside the goal circle, passes the ball and it goes
through the ring.
() | What is the infringement? No Action
(i) | What sanction would you award?
(i) | Who is the sanction awarded to?
(iv) | Where is the sanction taken?
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Questions 10 — 12 require the learner to show knowledge of the rule book.

Example: What may the GA or GS do if they win a Toss Up in the goal circle?

The GS or GA may either shoot for goal or pass - Rule 8.5.3 Outcome of Toss Up
1 mark

10. According to Rule 8.3.1 (ii) The ball is put out of court by a player who does
what?

1. Catches the ball in the air just before landing with the ball either wholly or partly
outside the court

2. Catches or touches the ball while standing on the ground, partly inside and partly
outside the court.
2 marks

11. According to Rule 9.5.1, what is the definition of a short pass?

When a player passes the ball there must be sufficient space for an opposing player on
the court to be able to intercept the ball as it moves from the hands of the thrower to
those of the receiver.

2 marks

12. 1. After an injury, where would the Umpire restart play?
2. If the Umpire was unable to say who was in possession of the ball when play
was stopped, how would the umpire restart play?

1. Play restarts from the spot where the ball was when play stopped.

2. If the Umpire is unable to say which team had possession of the ball, play restarts
with a toss up between any two opposing players allowed in the area.
2 marks
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SECTION 2

There are 8 questions in Section 2

Based on the situations given:-

Example 1:

Identify any infringements
Possible Actions and

Your reasoning behind your eventual conclusion

During the 2" quarter of a match the Red WA crosses into the Goal Circle in an

attempt to get free of the Blue WD. At the same time the Blue GD intercepts a shot for

goal by the Red GA. This is the second time that the Red WA has done this during
Q2. The other umpire had previously had a quiet word with her during Q1 about the
same infringement.

Infringement

Offside and Unfair play 1 mark

Possible Play Advantage or award a Free Pass for offside or apply the unfair play rule
Actions / and caution the Red WA for persistent infringing of a rule.
sanctions

1 mark
Reasoning Red WA may be out of position so the Blue team may have an opportunity to

go on the attack. The umpire would assess the position of other players and
may then play advantage.

Red WA offside may interfere with the other players in the goal circle and mean
that the Blue team cannot get the ball out of the goal circle and the Umpire may
choose to penalise the offside.

The Red WA has continued to infringe the offside rule, despite a quiet word
during Q1 by the other umpire.

As the offside is persistent and the other umpire had already had a quiet word
for the same offence, then the Umpire would probably deal with this as
persistent infringing. The umpire would hold time, caution the Red WA and
award a free pass to Blue team for offside. 2 marks

Please NOTE. It is not sufficient to just write

‘Use the game management rule’
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1. Red GS intercepts a pass to Blue GK close to the transverse line. She is
contacted by the Blue GK who knocks her off balance, but the Red GA is free in
the goal circle.

Infringement

Contact - Rule 12

Possible Penalty pass against Blue GK or play Advantage

Actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | The Blue GK has contacted the Red GS hard enough to knock her off
balance and so the umpire could penalise the contact and award a
penalty pass to Red against the Blue GK. This would release the Red
GS to move to her shooting circle and the Blue GK would be out of play.
As the Red GA is free in the goal circle then the umpire could consider
playing advantage. This would depend on where the Blue GD is
positioned and where the other players are

2. During the first quarter, the Red WA receives the ball on the edge of the goal

circle and she is accidentally contacted by the Blue WD. This is the third time
that the Blue WD has contacted the Red WA on the edge of the goal circle in this
guarter. The contact causes the Red WA to put one foot into the goal circle as
she releases the ball quickly to her GS who is in the goal circle.

Infringement

Contact — Rule 12
Offside — Rule 9.7
Game management — Rule 13.

Possible Penalty Pass against Blue WD, offside against the Red WA, apply the
Actions/ Game Management rule or play Advantage

Sanctions

Reasoning | As the Red WA has been contacted the umpire could penalise the Blue

WD and award a penalty pass against the Blue WD outside the goal
circle. This could be a disadvantage to the Red Team as the GS has the
ball and is in the goal circle.

The Red WA went offside as a result of the contact and so the Umpire
would not penalise the offside in this scenario.

This is the 3 time that the Blue WD has contacted the Red WA on the
edge of the goal circle in this first quarter and the umpire must consider
any game management issues. The umpire could allow the play to
continue and have a quiet word with the Blue WD or the umpire could call
time and give a caution.

The Umpire could play advantage, but must be aware of any game
management issues so early in the match. The umpire would probably
have a quiet word with the Blue WD and allow play to continue.
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3. At Red centre pass, Blue WD runs into the centre third just before the umpire
blows the whistle to restart play. The Red WA receives the ball inside the centre
third near the transverse line by her attacking goal third.

Infringement

Positioning of Players for Centre Pass - Rule 8.2.1

Possible Free Pass to Red at the point where the Blue WD broke into the Centre
actions/ Third or play Advantage

Sanctions

Reasoning | The Blue WD has entered the centre third before the Umpire has blown

the whistle to start play. The Umpire could penalise the Blue WD and
award a free pass to the Red Team.

As the ball was received near the Red attacking goal third, then the
umpire could consider playing advantage. The umpire would assess the
position of other players and decide whether advantage can be played.

4. The Red WD is standing in her goal third jumps to catch a high ball and lands on
her right foot wholly in her goal third. She steps into the centre third onto her left
foot and then releases the ball towards her Red GS who is in the goal circle. The
Blue GD intercepts the pass and lands inside her own goal third near the goal

circle.

Infringement

Over a Third - Rule 9.5.2

Possible Free pass to the Blue team or play Advantage

actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | The ball must be caught or touched by a player in each third of the court.

In this scenario the ball has passed from one goal third to the other goal
third, without being caught or touched in the centre third and is therefore
over a third. If the Blue GD is well balanced and other players in her team
are in a good position to receive the next pass then the umpire may play
advantage.

If the Blue team are not in a good position to receive the next pass then
the umpire would penalise the Red team for over a third and award a Free
Pass to be taken in the goal third by the transvers line where the ball first
entered the third incorrectly.
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5. Red GKiis standing in front of the Blue GA marking closely. As the Red GK gives
an instruction to her Red GD about covering the space, she also indicates with
an outstretched arm to the Red GD which space she means.

Infringement

Obstruction of a player not in Possession of the Ball - Rule 11.2

Possible Penalty Pass or No Action or play Advantage

actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | A player who is within 0.9 m (3 ft) of an opponent (measured on the

ground) may stretch out arms to momentarily signal for a pass or to
indicate the intended direction of a movement. If the arm is held out
longer than momentarily then the umpire could penalise for Obstruction.

The Red GK is marking Blue GA closely and an outstretched arm could
interfere with the Blue GA’s movement to receive a pass and the umpire
may penalise for Obstruction.

The umpire would need to consider where the Blue GS is standing and
where other players are positioned to decide if advantage can be played.

6. With only one minute of play left and the scores tied, the Red GD is penalised for
contact in the centre third. The Umpire awards a penalty pass to the Blue team.
As the Blue WD tries to take the penalty at the point indicated by the Umpire, the
Red WD deliberately knocks the ball away.

Infringement

Contact - Rule 12
Unfair Play - Rule 13.2.1

Possible Penalty pass against the Red GD and Red WD and Caution Red WD
actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | The Umpire has awarded a penalty pass to the Blue team for contact to

be taken in the centre third against Red GD. The Red WD has
intentionally knocked the ball away delaying the Blue WD from taking the
penalty.

The umpire would take time and award a penalty pass which is advanced
and caution the Red WD. The sanction may be advanced up to half a
third. Both the Red GD and Blue WD stand out of play at the new
position indicated by the umpire.
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7. Red WA crosses into the Goal Circle in an attempt to get free of the Blue WD
and as she does so, the Blue GD intercepts a shot for goal by the Red GA.

Infringement

Offside - Rule 9.7

Possible Free Pass or play Advantage

actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | The Red WA has gone offside into the goal circle and the umpire may

award a free pass to the Blue team to be taken where the Red WA went
offside.

As the Blue GD has gained possession of the ball from the rebound then
the umpire may consider playing advantage. The umpire will assess the
position of other players to decide whether the Blue team are in a good
position to receive a pass.

The umpire would probably play advantage.

8. The Red Centre prepares to take a Penalty Pass near her attacking circle and
the offending Blue GD is at her side. The Blue Centre then obstructs the Red
Centre as she releases the ball to the Red GA in the Goal Circle.

Infringement

Obstruction of a player in possession of the ball - Rule 11

Possible Penalty Pass against both Blue GD & Blue Centre or Play Advantage
actions/

Sanctions

Reasoning | The Blue centre has obstructed the Red centre and the umpire may

penalise the obstruction and award a penalty pass to the Red team. Both
the original infringer (Blue GD) and Blue centre must stand out of play
and the penalty would be taken where the Blue centre obstructed the Red
centre unless this disadvantages the Red team.

The Red GA is already in the goal circle and the Blue GD is outside the
Circle when the Blue centre obstructs. The umpire must assess where
other players are positioned and if the Red players are in a good position
to receive the pass then the umpire may play advantage. In this situation
the Blue GD is outside of the goal circle and so the umpire would
probably play advantage.
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END OF SECTION 2
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